Bank Head Office Worldwide


Loan Calculators
Mortgage Guides
Banking FAQs
Banking Institutions

Central Banks Worldwide



Home  »  Central Banks Worldwide  »  National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia

National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia


National Bank of Macedonia Logo

The National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia (Slavic: Народна банка на Република Македонија) is a central bank, and accordingly, the only bank of issue in the Republic of Macedonia. Its primary objective is to maintain the price stability. To this end, it seeks to preserve the purchasing power of the national currency; promote internal and external equilibrium in the national economy; encourage the mobilization of domestic and foreign savings. Their efficient allocation for productive economic activities; facilitate the emergence of financial.


Capital markets that are capable of responding to the needs of the national economy, and foster monetary, credit and financial conditions conducive to orderly, balance and sustain economic growth and development. The management of the Bank is conducted by an Executive Governor who is also Chairman of the Board of Governors and a Deputy Governor who serves as principal assistant to the Executive Governor.

According to the law on the National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia, the National Bank shall perform the following functions:

   establish and conduct the monetary policy;
   regulate the liquidity in the international payments;
   establish and conduct the Denar exchange rate policy;
   handle and manage the foreign exchange reserves;
   regulate the payment system;
   grant founding and operating license to a bank and a savings house and supervise the banks and savings houses;
   grant operating license to foreign exchange bureaus and supervise their operations in accordance with a law;
   issue banknotes and coins;
   perform activities for the account of the central government and the government administration bodies; and
   grant a license for performing services of prompt money transfer and supervise the operations of the entities performing services of prompt money transfer in accordance with a law.

The National Bank commits itself to providing effective support functions through a sound banking and financial control system, appropriate information system and the development of competent and qualified staff.

National Bank of Macedonia HQ Location Map

National Bank of Macedonia
HQ Address: Kuzman Josifovski Pitu Blvd 1
1000 Skopje
Republic of Macedonia
Tel: +389 2 3108 108
Fax: +389 2 3108 357
Currency: Denar
Banking Hours:
Monday - Friday : 7:30am - 4.30pm


The National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia has to ensures, through the application of modern management practices and technology, that all its activities are conducted effectively and efficiently.

List of banks governed by the National Bank of Macedonia
» Alpha Bank » Komercijalno Investiciona Banka » Sileks Banka
» Eurostandard Banka » Macedonian Bank » Stopanska Banka
» Izvozna i Kreditna Banka » NLB Tutunska banka » Stopanska Banka
» Investbanka » Ohridska Banka » TTK Banka
» Kapital Banka » Postenska Banka » Univerzalna Investiciona Banka
» Komercijalna Banka » ProKredit Banka » Ziraat Banka

The content comes from Internet, reasonable efforts are made to maintain accuracy of information published.
However, information could contain errors or inaccuracies and is presented without warranty and statutory means.
No liability is assumed for errors or omissions. Viewers are advised to consult their banker or financial consultant for complete information and their professional advise.
All trademarks, logos, brand names and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.

© 2011 - 2015 ® All Rights Reserved