Bank Head Office Worldwide


Loan Calculators
Mortgage Guides
Banking FAQs
Banking Institutions

Central Banks Worldwide



Home  »  Central Banks Worldwide  »  Central Bank of Nepal

Central Bank of Nepal


Central Bank of Nepal Logo

The Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB), established in 1956, is the central bank of Nepal. It was established in 1956 under the Nepal Rastra Bank Act 1955. The new Nepal Rastra Bank Act was brought out in 2002 by replacing the erstwhile Act of 1955. The new Act has provided operational autonomy and independence to the Bank. It supervises the commercial banks in Nepal and guides monetary policy.


NRB also oversees foreign exchange rates and the country's foreign exchange reserves. The Bank is eminently aware that, for the achievement of the above objectives in the present dynamic environment, sustained progress and continued reform of the financial sector is of utmost importance. Mission of the NRB is to maintain macro-economic stability through sound and effective monetary, foreign exchange and financial sector policies of Nepal. Continuously aware of this great responsibility, NRB is seriously pursuing various policies, strategies and actions, all of which are conveyed in the annual report on monetary policy.

To reflect this dynamic environment, the functions and objectives of the Bank have been recast by the new NRB Act of 2002, the preamble of which lays down the primary functions of the Bank as:

  to develop a secure, healthy and efficient system of payments;
  to make appropriate supervision of the banking and financial system in order to maintain its stability and foster its healthy development;
  to further enhance the public confidence in Nepal's entire banking and financial system; and
  to formulate necessary monetary and foreign exchange policies to maintain the stability in price and consolidate the balance of payments for sustainable development of the economy of Nepal.

Nepal Rastra Bank's head office located at capital city Kathmandu and has 7 district offices, located at Biratnagar, Janakpur, Birgunj, Pokhara, Siddharthanagar, Nepalgunj and Dhangadhi.

Central Bank of Nepal HQ Location Map

Nepal Rastra Bank
HQ Address: Baluwatar
Kathmandu 44600
Tel: +977 1 4410 158
Fax: +977 1 4410 159
Swift Code: NRBLNPKA
Currency: Nepali rupee
Banking Hours:
Sunday - Thursday : 10.00am - 3.00pm


Like all other central banks in the world, Nepal Rastra Bank must be well managed and pursue a goal-oriented approach, as consistent as possible with international best practice. The Bank also responsible in determined the Prime Rate in Nepal.

List of banks governed by the Central Bank of Nepal
Government-operated banks
» Rastriya Banijya Bank » Nepal Bank Limited » Agriculture Development Bank
Foreign banks
» Standard Chartered Bank
Local Commercial banks
» Nepal Bangladesh Bank » Nepal Credit and Commerce Bank Limited » Bank of Asia Nepal Limited
» Himalayan Bank Limited » Lumbini Bank Limited » Development Credit Bank Limited
» Bank of Kathmandu » Laxmi Bank Limited » NMB Bank Limited
» Nabil Bank » Nepal Industrial and Commercial Bank Limited » KIST Bank Limited
» Akash Bank Limited » Global Bank Limited » Janata Bank Limited
» Nepal SBI Bank Limited » Sunrise Bank Limited » Megha Bank Limited
» Siddhartha Bank Limited » Machhapuchhre Bank Limited » Centuary Commercial Bank Limited
» Everest Bank Limited » Citizens Bank International Limited
» Nepal Investment Bank Limited » Prime Commercial Bank Limited

The content comes from Internet, reasonable efforts are made to maintain accuracy of information published.
However, information could contain errors or inaccuracies and is presented without warranty and statutory means.
No liability is assumed for errors or omissions. Viewers are advised to consult their banker or financial consultant for complete information and their professional advise.
All trademarks, logos, brand names and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.

© 2011 - 2015 ® All Rights Reserved