Bank Head Office Worldwide


Loan Calculators
Mortgage Guides
Banking FAQs
Banking Institutions

Central Banks Worldwide



Home  »  Central Banks Worldwide  »  Central Bank of Lesotho

Central Bank of Lesotho


Central Bank of Lesotho Logo

The Central Bank of Lesotho (CBL) is the central bank of Lesotho, in southern Africa. The CBL was first established as the Lesotho Monetary Authority in 1978, under the Lesotho Monetary Authority Act of 1978. It started its operations on January 2nd 1980. The Central Bank of Lesotho is a statutory organisation fully owned by the Government of Lesotho. The Central Bank enjoys a fair amount of independence in formulating and implementing monetary policy.


The Governor, who is also the chairman of the Board of Directors, together with the two Deputy Governors, are appointed by His Majesty The King on the advice of the Prime Minister. The Minister of Finance appoints the other Board Members.

The Mission of the Central Bank of Lesotho is to implement appropriate monetary policy and proffer sound financial and fiscal advice, for the well-being of the country. The principal objective of the Central Bank of Lesotho, as stipulated in the Central Bank of Lesotho Act of 2000, is to achieve and maintain price stability. Other related objectives which are supportive to this mission are:

  To foster the liquidity, solvency and proper functioning of a stable market-based financial system;
  To formulate, adopt and execute the monetary policy of Lesotho;
  To issue, manage and redeem the currency of Lesotho;
  To formulate, adopt and execute the foreign exchange policy of Lesotho;
  To own, hold and manage its official international reserves;
  To act as a banker and advisor to, and as fiscal agent of the Government of Lesotho;
  To promote the efficient operations of the payments system;
  To promote the safe and sound development of the financial system;
  To monitor and regulate the capital market; and
To license, register and supervise institutions pursuant to the Financial Institutions Act of 1999, the Money Lenders Order of 1989, and the Building Finance Institutions Act of 1976, and the Insurance Act of 1976;

In achieving the functions as mentioned above, the Bank commits itself to providing effective support functions through a sound banking and financial control system, appropriate information system and the development of competent and qualified staff. The head office of the Central Bank is in Maseru, the capital city of Lesotho.


Central Bank of Lesotho HQ Location Map

Central Bank of Lesotho
HQ Address: Corner Airport and Moshoeshoe Rd
Maseru Central
Tel: +266 2231 4281
Fax: +266 2231 0051
Currency: Maloti
Banking Hours:
Monday - Friday : 8.00am - 4.30pm


With the vision to provide the conditions for Central Bank to build a strong economy by ensuring confidence and stability in the financial system in Lesotho.

List of banks in Lesotho governed by the Central Bank of Lesotho
Bank Name Telephone Fax Website
Standard Lesotho Bank Ltd (266) 2231 5737 (266) 2232 4468
Nedbank (Lesotho) Ltd (266) 2231 2696 (266) 2231 0633
First National Bank of Lesotho (266) 2222 2200 (266) 2222 2222 N/A
Lesotho Post Bank (266) 2231 3170 (266) 2231 7832

The content comes from Internet, reasonable efforts are made to maintain accuracy of information published.
However, information could contain errors or inaccuracies and is presented without warranty and statutory means.
No liability is assumed for errors or omissions. Viewers are advised to consult their banker or financial consultant for complete information and their professional advise.
All trademarks, logos, brand names and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.

© 2011 - 2015 ® All Rights Reserved