Bank Head Office Worldwide


Loan Calculators
Mortgage Guides
Banking FAQs
Banking Institutions

Central Banks Worldwide



Home  »  Central Banks Worldwide  »  Bank of Uganda

Bank of Uganda


Bank of Uganda Logo

The Bank of Uganda (BOU) is the Central Bank of the Republic of Uganda. BOU is fully owned by the Government of Uganda, but is not a government department. The Board of Directors of the Bank of Uganda is the supreme policy making body of the Bank. It is chaired by the Governor and in his/her absence by the Deputy Governor. The duties and powers of the Board are provided for under the 'Bank of Uganda Act'.


The Board formulates the Bank's policies and ensures that anything required to be done by the Bank under the statute as well as anything else that is within or incidental to the functioning of the Bank is carried out.

Mission of the Bank of Uganda is to achieve price and financial stability to contribute towards national economic growth and development. The Bank shall uphold core values that are an integral part of its vision, mission and corporate culture.

In the process of fulfilling the Bank's mission, the Bank carries out the following functions:

 • Issue Uganda's national currency/legal tender, the Uganda Shilling (UGX);
 • Regulate money supply using monetary policy;
 • Act as Banker to the Government of Uganda;
 • Act as Banker to Commercial Banks;
 • Supervise and regulate Financial Institutions in Uganda;
 • Manage the country's external/foreign reserves;
 • Manage Uganda's external debt; and
 • Advise the Government of Uganda on financial and economic issues.

In achieving the functions as mentioned above, the Bank commits itself to providing effective support functions through a sound banking and financial control system, appropriate information system and the development of competent and qualified staff.

Bank of Uganda HQ Location Map

Bank of Uganda
HQ Address: Plot 37/45 Kampala Road
Tel: +256 41 4258 441
Fax: +256 41 4230 878
Swift Code: UGBAUGKA
Currency: Uganda Shilling
Banking Hours:
Monday - Friday : 8.00am - 2.00pm


Head office of Bank of Uganda are located on Plot 37/45 Kampala Road. The Bank has 5 branches headed by Branch Managers in Kampala, Jinja, Mbale, Gulu and Mbarara towns.

List of banks governed by the Bank of Uganda
» ABC Capital Bank » Bank of Africa » Bank of Baroda
» Barclays Bank » Cairo International Bank » Centenary Bank
» Citibank Uganda Limited » Crane Bank » DFCU Bank
» Diamond Trust Bank » Ecobank » Equity Bank
» Fina Bank » Global Trust Bank » Housing Finance Bank
» Kenya Commercial Bank » National Bank of Commerce » Imperial Bank Uganda
» Orient Bank » Stanbic Bank » Standard Chartered Bank
» Tropical Bank » United Bank for Africa

The content comes from Internet, reasonable efforts are made to maintain accuracy of information published.
However, information could contain errors or inaccuracies and is presented without warranty and statutory means.
No liability is assumed for errors or omissions. Viewers are advised to consult their banker or financial consultant for complete information and their professional advise.
All trademarks, logos, brand names and copyrights are the property of their respective owners.

© 2011 - 2015 ® All Rights Reserved